Oak Brook criminal lawyers

Call Us630-953-4400

Available 24/7

The Impact of Violating Illinois’ Weapons Laws

Posted on in Criminal Law

The Impact of Violating Illinois’ Weapons LawsViolent crimes occur daily throughout Illinois. Because of this, law enforcement officials are constantly on the lookout for those carrying weapons without proper permits, and the state laws regarding illegal weapon possession can come with very significant legal ramifications. As far as regulations and consequences of violating said regulations, Illinois is known to have one of the strictest gun policies in the U.S. If you have been caught carrying a weapon illegally, it is time to speak with a skilled attorney. 

How to Legally Carry a Gun in Illinois

According to Illinois state law, it is legal to carry certain types of guns as long as you have a state-issued Firearm Owner’s Identification Card (FOID). In order to qualify for a card, one must:

  • Not have a prior felony charge on their permanent record
  • Be a U.S. citizen
  • Have no history of domestic violence or narcotics abuse

While Illinois was one of the last states to allow concealed carry of handguns, it is now possible to get a concealed carry permit. In order to get a permit, one must go through 16 hours of firearms training. It should also be noted that open carry of any firearm and possession of automatic weapons is illegal in the state. 

The Consequences of Breaking the Rules

Failing to adhere to Illinois’ gun regulations can come with serious ramifications – ones that can lead to serious fines, loss of your firearms, and even potential jail time. The least significant firearm charge you can receive is a Class A misdemeanor if you are charged with illegal possession of a firearm but would have qualified for a FOID card if you had previously obtained one. If you would fail to qualify for a FOID card, due to the type of weapon or previous personal circumstances, you will face a Class 3 felony charge and fines up to $25,000. Violating Illinois’ concealed carry policy will result in a misdemeanor charge but is elevated to a felony for repeat offenders. Concealed carry is prohibited in many areas, such as airports, hospitals, government buildings, and schools. 

Contact a DuPage County Firearm Charge Attorney

Every year, thousands of Illinoisans are charged with violating the state’s firearm policies. With the state's notoriously strict gun laws, we at McMahon Law Offices understand how difficult it can be to adhere to the state’s policies. If you are facing a firearm charge, we will do everything in our power to help you avoid a conviction. We will also walk you through the steps of becoming a legal firearm owner in the state of Illinois. To schedule a complimentary initial consultation with a knowledgeable Illinois criminal defense attorney, call us today at 630-953-4400. 

Sources:

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1657&ChapterID=39

DuPage County Bar Association Top 100 Illinois State Bar Association AVVO Rating Illinois Prosecutors Bar Association AVVO Reviews
Back to Top