Oak Brook criminal lawyers

Call Us630-953-4400

Evening and weekend hours available

The Impact of a DUI Charge in Illinois 

Posted on in DUI Defense

The Impact of a DUI Charge in Illinois According to statistics compiled by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), an average of 29 Americans die every day in car accidents involving impaired drivers. Due to the sheer number of fatalities caused by inebriated drivers, it should come as no surprise that law enforcement officials are always on the lookout for drunk drivers. In Illinois, driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol can come with severe legal consequences. If you have been charged with a DUI, it is important to seek out quality legal representation as soon as possible. 

Consequences of a Conviction

Illinois classifies a first DUI as a class A misdemeanor. If convicted, a class A misdemeanor could lead to:

  • A maximum of 364 days in prison;
  • Fines up to $2,500; and
  • A one-year driver's license suspension.

In certain situations, a first-time offender can face increased criminal punishment. If an offender has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .16 or higher or is carrying a passenger under the age of 16, they will face a minimum of six months in prison, along with mandatory community service hours.  

If your license is suspended, you can apply for a restricted driving permit. In order to obtain a restricted driving permit in Illinois, an offender is asked to appear before a hearing officer. These hearings are conducted by the Secretary of State’s Department of Administrative Hearing. In these hearings, the hearing officer is asked to determine whether or not the driver will be a danger to other travelers. A restricted driving permit will enable you to drive to essential locations, such as your place of employment, your children’s school, and the grocery store. 

It is important to note that if you refuse to take part in chemical testing, you will be in violation of Illinois’s implied consent law. This will result in automatic license suspension, known as statutory summary suspension. If you have refused chemical testing, you will be required to equip your vehicle with a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID).   

Contact an Oak Brook DUI Defense Lawyer 

A DUI conviction can seriously impact a person’s life moving forward. From license suspensions to difficulty securing employment, a DUI charge should not be taken lightly. Fortunately, our legal team at McMahon Law Offices is here to assist you in securing the best outcome possible. To schedule a complimentary consultation with a DuPage County criminal defense attorney, contact us today at 630-953-4400.

Sources 

https://www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/impaired_driving/impaired-drv_factsheet.html

https://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/BAIID/rdp.html

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/fulltext.asp?DocName=062500050K11-501

DuPage County Bar Association Top 100 Illinois State Bar Association AVVO Rating Illinois Prosecutors Bar Association AVVO Reviews
Back to Top