Oak Brook criminal lawyers

Call Us630-953-4400

Evening and weekend hours available

Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in teenage drunk driving

How a DUI Conviction Can Impact a Driver Under the Age of 21 A charge of driving under the influence should never be taken lightly because the ramifications of a conviction can range from loss of driving privileges to potential jail-time. For drivers under the legal drinking age of 21, a DUI conviction can come with legal ramifications of increased severity. Alcohol is a leading risk factor in fatal car accidents among teen drivers, with more than 20 percent of all teen driving fatalities involving alcohol in some capacity. Because of this, law enforcement officials are constantly on the lookout for inebriated driving amongst teen drivers. If you or a member of your family have been arrested for intoxicated driving, it is time to seek out the assistance of a legal professional. 

The Legal Ramifications

In Illinois, underage drivers can be charged for simply driving with a blood alcohol content over 0.00. This state law is known as the zero-tolerance policy. According to the zero-tolerance policy:

  • An underage drinker’s first arrest with a blood alcohol content over 0.00 will result in a license suspension of six months; and
  • A second offense will result in a suspension of driving privileges for a two year period.

If your child is convicted of a DUI, they will face having a Class A misdemeanor on their criminal record. Not only will the conviction result in a two-year license revocation, but the charge could impact their ability to secure employment or be admitted to universities. Throughout 2017, a staggering 1,160 underage drivers in Illinois were arrested for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If your child is facing a DUI charge, the first step you should take is consulting with an attorney you can trust.  

...

Illinois defense attorneyCommon sense says that it is illegal to use a fraudulent state ID card or driver’s license, or what many people jokingly call a “Fake ID” or a “fakie.” An evening social gathering or a night of drinking at the local bar can be a fun way to spend time with family and friends. However, if a person is caught sneaking into a bar or restaurant with a fake ID, some very serious repercussions may follow.

What Can Happen If Caught with a Fake ID?

If a person is caught using a fake ID, then he or she may lose driving privileges for up to one year. However, trying to obtain a fake ID or driver’s license, allowing another person to use your ID, posing as one’s own ID or driver’s license issued to another person, and allowing unlawful use of a driver’s license or ID will count toward a Class A misdemeanor, with punishment of one year in jail and fines of up to $2,500. Any following offense will count toward a Class 4 felony.

...

teenage drunk driving, DUI, DUI defense, DUI charges, DuPage County DUI defense attorneySchool is out for the summer, and this free time encourages teenagers to find methods to fill the gaps. Unfortunately, idle hands can breed mischief. One go-to time-consumer for many teens is socializing, and alcohol consumption is often incorporated. However, alcohol and teens do not mix well, under any circumstances. Moreover, underage drinking and driving can result in a deadly outcome. If fortunate enough to be stopped by a police officer before an accident occurs, the consequences may still be life-altering.

Illinois Zero Tolerance Policy

In Illinois, it is illegal to be under the age of 21 and operate a motor vehicle with any trace of alcohol in the bloodstream. This policy is is known as a Zero Tolerance Policy for Underage Drinking. Even transporting alcohol in the passenger seat of a car is illegal, regardless of ownership.

...
DuPage County Bar Association Top 100 Illinois State Bar Association AVVO Rating Illinois Prosecutors Bar Association AVVO Reviews
Back to Top