Oak Brook criminal lawyers

Call Us630-953-4400

Evening and weekend hours available

Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in felony charge

The Implications of Multiple DUI Convictions When a person is charged with driving under the influence of alcohol, it is important for them to fully understand how a conviction can impact their life. In Illinois, the average DUI expenses can be in excess of $10,000. When factoring in increases in your auto insurance plan, blood breath testing fees, and fines for the crime, it should come as no surprise that the immediate financial ramifications of a DUI conviction can be significant. When a person is convicted of multiple DUI offenses, their life can be drastically changed forever. Below we will examine the impact of multiple DUI convictions and how said convictions can alter a person’s financial security and quality of life. 

How Multiple Drunk Driving Charges Can Impact You

According to Illinois state law, the potential legal ramifications of a DUI become much more severe in the event of a second or subsequent conviction. While a second DUI conviction is still a Class A Misdemeanor (just like a first-time DUI conviction), the offender will face a minimum of 5 days in jail, as well as a license revocation of 5 years.

If aggravating factors are present, the criminal punishment of a second conviction will be much harsher than in the first conviction. For instance, a first-time DUI offender who is apprehended with a blood alcohol content that is twice the legal limit (.16 or higher) will face larger fines and 100 hours of community service. In your second DUI case, a blood alcohol content of .16 or higher will constitute a Class 4 felony charge. 

...

Illinois DUI lawyerDrinking socially can be a way to unwind from a stressful week, as long as the individual drinking is doing so responsibly. Many parents, legal guardians, and other adults have furnished alcohol to their children, even if under the age of 21. However, even though the furnishing of alcohol may not be in a public place, the state of Illinois still considers this action to be illegal and it may come with very serious charges, including driving under the influence, if the person drinking alcohol decides to drive afterward.

Why Is Furnishing Alcohol to a Minor Illegal in Illinois?

If an adult over the age of 21 provides alcohol to a person under the age of 21, he or she may face some very serious consequences. The individual may face a fine of up to $2,500 and one year in jail for a misdemeanor offense. However, if the individual is charged with a felony, he or she may face a fine of up to $25,000 and at least one year in prison.

...

Posted on in DUI Defense

Illinois DUI lawyerA nice evening on the weekend is perfect for any social gathering, whether for a birthday, wedding, or just an evening with family and friends. If alcohol is involved, it should not a problem if people partake in drinking. Where the act of drinking becomes a problem is when a person has had a little too much to drink and then attempts to drive back home. If anyone drives home after drinking, that person needs to know what the consequences may be if pulled over by law enforcement.

DUI and Penalties

A difference between a DUI charge and an aggravated DUI charge lies in the number of DUI charges the offender has committed, if the offender transported anyone 16 years old or under, and the offender’s BAC level.

...
DuPage County Bar Association Top 100 Illinois State Bar Association AVVO Rating Illinois Prosecutors Bar Association AVVO Reviews
Back to Top