Oak Brook criminal lawyers

Call Us630-953-4400

Available 24/7

Examining Reckless Driving in Illinois and New Enforcement Efforts 

Posted on in Criminal Law

Examining Reckless Driving in Illinois and New Enforcement Efforts When a person makes the decision to become a licensed driver, they are agreeing to follow all traffic rules and regulations in their state. Despite this fact, many drivers decide to disregard these rules. In doing so, their actions usually put other travelers in danger. Legally speaking, the act of knowingly disregarding the safety of other travelers is called reckless driving. It is important to understand the ways in which a reckless driving charge can impact your driving record and the potential ramifications of a charge. If you have been charged with reckless driving, it is time to seek out the help of a knowledgeable legal professional. 

Reckless Driving in Illinois

In Illinois, reckless driving charges constitute a Class A misdemeanor, can lead to up to one year in jail, and come with fines as high as $2,500. A reckless driving charge can come from a number of offenses, including:

  • Driving at dangerous speeds
  • Recklessly weaving through traffic
  • Tailgating other vehicles
  • Racing

It should be noted that an aggravated reckless driving charge will be increased in severity to a felony charge and can lead to up to three years in prison. 

This year, Illinois state police are vowing to increase their focus on reckless driving. The maximum fine has been increased to $25,000 for a person who drives recklessly and hits a construction worker. Police will also be on the lookout for drivers failing to properly react to school busses and medical personnel on the road. When a driver fails to move over when they see emergency vehicles, they are in violation of Scott’s Law. As of this year, those violations will come with a minimum fine of $250 for first-time offenders and $750 for repeat offenders. A driver that passes a school bus that is trying to drop children off and has its stop arm out will be given an immediate $300 fine, with a $1,000 fee looming for a second offense.

Contact a DuPage County Reckless Driving Attorney

While some traffic violations do not require the help of an attorney, a reckless driving charge can have significant impacts on your life. Not only will you face the prospects of having a Class A misdemeanor on your permanent record, but you will also likely face rises in insurance rates and even potential jail time. Our team at McMahon Law Offices has years of experience helping clients fight reckless driving charges and will do everything in our power to help you avoid a conviction. If you are looking for help with a reckless driving case, call a quality Oak Brook criminal defense attorney at 630-953-4400. 

Sources: 

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/fulltext.asp?DocName=062500050K11-503

https://week.com/2019/12/30/new-illinois-laws-what-to-expect-in-2020/

DuPage County Bar Association Top 100 Illinois State Bar Association AVVO Rating Illinois Prosecutors Bar Association AVVO Reviews
Back to Top